Skip to main content


Istitutional partners


With a history of over 700 years long (university foundation dates from 1303 by Pope Bonifacio VIII) and 115.000 students in total, La Sapienza is the first university in Europe. Its mission is to contribute to the development of the society and the knowledge through research, formation of excellence and quality and the development of international cooperation.

The training offer consists of more than 250 degree courses and 200 master’s programs. The college gives formative courses of excellence and free courses for the best capable students. The offered services are: 59 libraries (with two reading rooms which are open h 24), 21 museums, orientation counters “Ciao” and “Hello”, the network “Sort”, the office for the disabled people rights. The University also offers many cultural, social and sport activities: orchestras and choirs of “Musica Sapienza”, Theatron project, a web-radio, 100.000 sqm of facilities for all kind of sports.

La Sapienza, due to 11 colleges, 63 departments and many studying centres, reaches very high levels in the fields of archaeology, physics and astrophysics, humanistic and cultural science, environment, nanotechnologies, cellular and genic therapy, architectural design, aerospace, etc.



Nobel Prizes

  • Giulio Natta, 1963 – Nobel prize for Chemistry, chair in Physical Chemistry 1935-1937
  • Franco Modigliani, 1985 – Nobel prize for Economics, graduate in Law 1939
  • Guglielmo Marconi, 1909 – Nobel prize for Physics, chair in Electromagnetic waves 1935-1937
  • Enrico Fermi, 1938 – Nobel prize for Physics, chair in Theoretical physics 1926-1938
  • Emilio Segrè, 1959 – Nobel prize for Physics, graduate and chair in Physics 1928-1935
  • Carlo Rubbia, 1984 – Nobel prize for Physics, assistant in Physics 1959-1960

Famous professors

  • Niccolò Copernico
  • Antonio Labriola
  • Giovanni Gentile
  • Vittorio Emanuele Orlando
  • Mario Praz
  • Pietro Valdoni
  • Natalino Sapegno
  • Edoardo Amaldi
  • Ettore Paratore
  • Aldo Moro
  • Amintore Fanfani
  • Vittorio Bachelet
  • Ezio Tarantelli
  • Giovanni Bollea
  • Giovanni Berlinguer
  • Giuliano Amato
  • Sabino Cassese
  • Stefano Rodotà
  • Alberto Asor Rosa
  • Tullio De Mauro
  • Giulio Ferroni
  • Piercarlo Padoan
  • Giorgio Alleva


  • Maria Montessori
  • Giuseppe Ungaretti
  • Ettore Majorana
  • Emilio Segré
  • Giulio Andreotti
  • Paolo Mieli
  • Luigi Abete
  • Gianni Letta
  • Sergio Mattarella
  • Mario Draghi
  • Ignazio Visco
  • Antonello Venditti
  • Carlo Verdone
  • Claudio Baglioni
  • Laura Boldrini
  • Paolo Gentiloni
  • Luisa Todini
  • Federica Mogherini


The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering – D.I.M.A. – was born in 2010 by a project of La Sapienza with the reorganizing of the previous departments and the unification of professors and researchers into new homogeneous formative and researching activities.

Therefore in the field of Industrial Engineering the DIMA was found by the fusion of the Department of Aerospace and Astronautical Engineering and the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

DIMA is actually made of about 100 people, between teachers and administrative specialists. The Department manages three degree courses in Industrial Engineering, three PhDs, six Master’s programs. DIMA also manages researching activities in the fields of Theoretical and applied mechanical, fluid dynamics, aerospace propulsion, mechanical and thermal measurements, technological projects, management of machinery and industrial systems and construction, structures and aerospace systems.

The collaboration with DIMA

Considering that it is in the interest of DIMA to promote research and development activities, Owac has established a collaboration agreement with the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering of La Sapienza University, receiving the mandate to represent it in promoting of industrial activities linked to production and use of secondary solid fuels and energy recovery. In particular, the collaboration regards:

  • researches related to innovation in the technological energy-environment;
  • research in the field of technologies and materials for the treatment and exploitation of urban and special waste aimed at the recovery of the materials for the production of energy;
  • scientific research and experimentation of new scientific and technical activities in the specific field of waste treatment in accordance with European and Italian legislation and its exploitation for the production energy;
  • Promotion of new industrial activities in the Asiatic countries aimed to the waste transformation and the production of CSS fuel;
  • Development of feasibility studies for the promotion and construction of integrated systems for the waste management in the Asian countries;
  • Training of Asian technicians to be deployed in the development of renewable energy;
  • Organization of conferences and work-shops on joint technical activities carried out, even for the purpose of vocational guidance;
  • Organization of educational workshops and supervision of first and second level theses for deepening scientific and technical aspects.

For further information, the signed agreement between Owac and DIMA, which is aimed to the development of the above common activities, is reported below.